Shrine of the Book

The Shrine of the Book in Jerusalem uses quirky contemporary architecture to house and display ancient manuscripts — including the first Dead Sea Scrolls to be discovered. The building’s white-tiled dome is shaped like the lid of the first jar in which the scrolls were found at Qumran. In contrast nearby stands a black basalt wall. The black-white imagery symbolises the theme of one of the scrolls — The War of the Sons of Light Against the Sons of Darkness. Map.

The Israel Museum and Shrine of the Book are open:
Sun, Mon, Wed, Thurs 10 am – 5 pm (Wed in August 10 am – 9 pm)
Tues 4 pm – 9 pm (Tues in August 10 am – 9 pm)
Fri and Holiday Eves 10 am – 2 pm
Sat and Holidays 10 am – 5 pm

Free entrance for children (under 18, excluding groups and workshops) on Tues and Sat thoughout the year, courtesy of the Canadian Friends of the Israel Museum and David and Inez Myers, Cleveland, Ohio

Free admission for soldiers doing compulsory military service and those doing National Service is courtesy of the Israeli Friends of the Israel Museum.

Tuesdays and Wednesdays in August the Museum will be open from 10 am – 9 pm.

Entrance for children will be free for the entire month of August, courtesy of the Canadian Friends of the Israel Museum and David and Inez Myers of Cleveland, Ohio.

Special Hours in August, 2016

Aug 13 Sat Eve of Ninth of Av 10 am – 5 pm
Aug 14 Sun Ninth of Av 10 am – 5 pm

Tishrei Holidays, October 2016

Oct 2 Sun Rosh Hashanah Eve 10 am – 2 pm
Oct 3 Mon Rosh Hashanah 10 am – 5 pm
Oct 4 Tues Rosh Hashanah 10 am – 5 pm
Oct 11, 12 Tues, Wed Yom Kippur Eve and Yom Kippur Closed
Oct 16 Sun Sukkot Eve 10 am – 2 pm
Oct 17 Mon Sukkot 10 am – 5 pm
Oct 18 Tues First intermediate day 10 am – 9 pm Kite-Flying Festival
Oct 19 Wed Second intermediate day 10 am – 5 pm
Oct 20 Thurs Third intermediate day 10 am – 5 pm
Oct 21 Fri Fourth intermediate day 10 am – 2 pm
Oct 22 Sat Fifth intermediate day 10 am – 5 pm
Oct 23 Sun Hoshana Raba and Holiday Eve 10 am – 2 pm Free entrance for All
in memory of BERTHA K. GREEN
Oct 24 Mon Shmini Atzeret and Simchat Torah 10 am – 5 pm
Oct 25 Tues Post-holiday 4 pm – 9 pm

Free entrance for children (until age 18, excluding workshops, performances, and special events) during the 8 Days of Sukkot, Oct 17-25, courtesy of Ernst and Jacqueline Weil Stiftung, Zürich.

1 Comment

Please leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.